Beef Fajita Enchiladas

Enchiladas

Being that I’m a native Texan, I love me some Mexican food. Especially enchiladas….cheesy, gooey, saucy, delicioso!! I’ve tried making enchiladas at home but they have just never stood up to the ones I get from some of my favorite Tex-Mex restaurants….until now. The real key to delicious enchiladas is the sauce. None of the sauces I had tried before tasted right but this one is very very good and it’s quick and easy to boot! Now, this is definitely not an authentic sauce but I think it tastes pretty close to what you might get in a Tex-Mex restaurant here in Texas. If you don’t have leftover fajitas like I did you could make them with anything…ground beef, shredded chicken, cheese, shrimp, pork, etc. The possibilities are endless!

Enchilada Sauce

Adapted from Allrecipes.com

INGREDIENTS:
1/4 cup vegetable oil
2 tablespoons flour
2 Tbsp chili powder
1 (8 ounce) can tomato sauce
1 1/2 cups chicken broth/stock
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon onion salt
salt to taste

DIRECTIONS:
1.     Heat oil in a skillet over medium-high heat. Stir in flour and chili powder, reduce heat to medium, and cook until lightly brown, stirring constantly to prevent burning flour.
2.     Gradually stir in tomato sauce, water, cumin, garlic powder, and onion salt into the flour and chili powder until smooth, and continue cooking over medium heat approximately 10 minutes, or until thickened slightly. Season to taste with salt.

To prepare enchiladas:

Spread about 1/3rd of the enchilada sauce on the bottom of a rectangular baking dish. Then start filling corn tortillas with whatever filling you desire (I did beef fajitas) and rolling them up. Place enchiladas in bottom of baking dish with the seam side down. Once all the enchiladas are in place, pour the remaining sauce over the top of them; make sure there are no dry spots or they will get too tough. Then sprinkle the cheese of your choice (I used Cheddar) over them to your desired cheesiness. Cover with foil and bake in a 350 degree oven for about 25 minutes. Then remove the foil and bake for another 5 minutes. Serve with a dollop of sour cream.

Enchiladas

3 Responses to “Beef Fajita Enchiladas”

  1. Chicken Enchiladas « Made By Melissa Says:

    [...] 20, 2008 After seeing variations of this recipe on Ashley’s, Chelley’s and Ally’s blogs within the last couple of days, I figured it was a sign I [...]

  2. Chicken Fajita Enchiladas : Brown Eyed Baker Says:

    [...] made my own Enchilada Sauce, modifying it from a recipe that I found on The Spicy Skillet, as we aren’t big fans of big spice. Below is my [...]

  3. Daniel Says:

    I made these enchiladas for my family on Christmas. I added a little additional tomato sauce to help hide the cumin flavor. The dish was excellent!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

