Tomato, Avocado, and Red Onion Salad

I took inspiration for this recipe from an episode of 30 Minute Meals with Rachael Ray that I had playing in the background the other day. It’s really simple and really delicious. I especially like the different way she suggested cutting the avocado into thick, round slices. I had never thought to do it that way. I hope my instructions below explain it well enough. It was the perfect accompaniment to the Beer Butt Chicken that Alex grilled.

Tomato, Avocado, and Red Onion Salad

Inspired by an episode of 30 Minute Meals

2 large ripe tomatoes

2 Haas avocados

1/2 red onion

drizzle of olive oil

drizzle of balsamic vinegar

salt and pepper

2 ounces of Queso Fresco (or the crumbled cheese of your choice…blue, feta, gorgonzola, etc.)

Cut the tomatoes into thick round slices and lay flat on a plate.

Slice the avocado around the middle (the opposite way you would normally do it) and pull out the pit. Then scoop out the flesh with a spoon in one chunk. Slice the avocado into rounds mirroring the thickness of the tomato rounds and then arrange a slice on top of each piece of tomato.

Cut the red onion into thick slices as well and place on the avocado rounds.

Drizzle the olive oil and the balsamic vinegar over the salad and sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Crumble the Queso Fresco on top and enjoy.

6 Responses to “Tomato, Avocado, and Red Onion Salad”

  1. katie102006 Says:

    YUMMY! I LOVE the sweet spice of a raw red onion with the smooth cremainess of avocado. I’ll have to try this soon!

  2. gardenax Says:

    MMM seems good

  3. rardnek Says:

    This sounds delish! Question tho — why can’t I see your pictures? Most (not all) appear as red boxes to me – both in the RSS Reader and on your blog. Is it me?

  4. aggieashley07 Says:

    Katie and Gardenax – Thank you!

    Rardnek-

    I’m not sure why my pictures don’t show up for you. I use Snapfish as a photo hosting website so if you don’t have access to that website they probably wouldn’t show up. Are you viewing my blog at work or at home? If at work they may have blocked access to photo-viewing websites like Snapfish. Hope you can figure out how to see the photos! Good luck!

    Ashley

  5. auralay Says:

    I wish this photo was edible :(
    I’m so making that this week :D

  6. rardnek Says:

    Ashely – that was it! When I logged into Snapfish, they showed up. Thanks for the tip (and boy does that salad look delish!)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

