Strawberry Hand Pies

Strawberry Hand Pies

When I first saw these on Good Things Catered I knew they sounded right up my alley. Then, when I saw them on Annie’s Eats I took it as a sign that I needed to make them ASAP. They were so very delicious, especially served with freshly whipped cream.

I definitely had some issues with them though. First, the recipe says it should make 10 to 12 pies but I could BARELY get 8 pies out of the dough recipe and I really don’t think my pies were all that big. Also, the recipe suggests using confectioners sugar instead of flour for rolling out the dough and to keep it from sticking. Well, this didn’t really work for me. It just ended up making a stickier mess than before so I had to switch to flour. I wish I could have stuck with the confectioners sugar though because it added such a nice sweetness to the dough. Next time I might make a half and half mixture of flour and sugar. Then, I had issues with filling the dough with the strawberry mixture. See I had mixed my strawberries with the sugar and stuck them in the fridge about an hour before I started filling the dough rounds so there was lots of strawberry juice by the time I got to them. Well, the juice made the pies not want to seal so there were tons of holes that opened up during cooking. Also, when eating the pies I just felt that they were a little too “crusty” and could have used more fruit filling but I have NO IDEA how I could have put more filling inside without them bursting open completely.

Now after all those “issues” you’d probably think I would never make them again but that is SO WRONG! They were so good and so worth the amount of work and headache that they caused. Plus, I think this is the type of recipe where the more you make it the better you get at it. I can’t wait to try other fruit fillings too! Thanks for another great recipe, Katie!

Strawberry Hand Pies

Source: Good Things Catered

Ingredients:
1 recipe sweet butter pie dough (see below if needed)
3 c. fresh strawberries, hulled and quartered
2 Tbsp granulated sugar
2 tsp fresh lemon juice

powdered sugar for dusting

2 large eggs, lightly beaten
Turbinado sugar for sprinkling

Directions
-Preheat oven to 400 degrees and line baking sheets with parchment.
-In medium bowl, combine strawberries, granulated sugar and lemon juice and set aside.
-Turn dough out onto a powdered sugar-dusted work surface and cut pie dough in half (rewrap other half and place back in fridge to stay cold).
-Roll one half of pie dough out about 1/8 in thickness. Using round pastry cutter (or trace knife around small plate), cut out about 5-6 inch rounds.
-Place round onto baking sheet and place about 2-3 Tbsp strawberry mixture into center.
-Using pastry brush dipped in a small amount of egg, brush the edge of half of the round.
-Fold dry edge onto egg brushed half, forming semicircle shape, and press edges together to seal with the tines of a fork.
-Brush the top of the pie with egg mixture and sprinkle with sugar.
-Use a small knife to make a 1 inch slit in the top of the pie for steam to escape.
-Repeat with remaining pastry dough.
-Place in oven and bake until tops are beginning to turn golden brown, about 20 minutes.
-Let cool on sheets for 7-10 mins and then transfer to wire rack to cool completely.
-Serve warm or at room temperature.

Makes 10-12

Sweet Butter Pie Dough

Ingredients:
2 1/2 c. unbleached all-purpose flour
2 Tbsp sugar
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp lemon zest
2 sticks (1 c.) cold unsalted butter, cut into 1/4 in pieces
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
6-8 Tbsp cold buttermilk (whole milk with a dash of fresh lemon juice can be subbed)

powdered sugar for dusting

Directions:
-In small bowl, combine vanilla and buttermilk, stir to combine and set aside.
-In large bowl, add flour, sugar, salt, and lemon zest and whisk to combine.
-Use pastry cutter or two knives to cut butter into flour mixture until resembles course meal or just until all pieces are less than pea-sized.
-Add buttermilk mixture and stir in until dough comes together.
-Transfer dough to powdered sugar-dusted work surface and shape into flat disk.
-Wrap disk tightly in plastic wrap and refrigerate at least one hour.

Notes: You can also make the dough in the bowl of a food processor, just be careful not to over process (30 secs should be enough to bring it together.)

Pie dough may be made ahead and frozen for up to 2 months if wrapped well.

6 Responses to “Strawberry Hand Pies”

  1. April Says:

    These look fab! I’d love to see the dough recipe, if you have a chance!

  2. Annie Says:

    They look beautiful! Sorry you had such trouble with them. At least they were worth it :)

  3. katie102006 Says:

    Hahaha. SO sorry you had so many problems with the recipe! I was feeling really bad reading this. But I’m glad you liked them in the end! :) They look absolutely fabulous. Love the pics! And other fruits work perfectly well too. i’ve made peach and blueberry as well.

  4. Amber Says:

    Some day I’ll eventually makes these. They sound so freaking good!! Sorry you had so many problems but I think you are right that you will get better the more you make them.

  5. aggieashley07 Says:

    April – I’m so sorry! Thank you for bringing to my attention that I hadn’t posted the pie dough recipe! It has now been added.

    Annie and Amber – Thanks! They were definitely worth it. :-)

    Katie – Please don’t feel bad!! They were awesome and I’m so glad I had a chance to make them (and eat them). :-) I’m just a little challenged when it comes to making “pocket” type things and rolling out pie dough. Haha!

  6. Kate Says:

    Wow. These look fricking awesome! (quoting your sweetheart).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

