Crispy Breaded Pork Cutlets

These were AMAZING!! I’ve finally found the trick to perfectly crisp oven-baked meats. I saw this recipe on an episode of The Martha Stewart Show and thought the whole meal sounded delicious. I loved the idea of browning off the Panko bread crumbs in the oven before coating the meat. It gave them a richer golden-brown color and added tons of crispness. I also loved the way you coat the chops in dijon mustard instead of dipping in egg. It added a great flavor and saved calories! I was just thrilled with how these turned out! I will use this same coating strategy with chicken and maybe even fish.

If you’ve never used Panko bread crumbs, TRY THEM! I found them in my normal grocery store in the International Aisle way down on the bottom shelf.

I served the pork chops with the suggested sides: Creamy Corn and Saute of Peppers.

Crispy Breaded Pork Cutlets

Source: Everyday Food

Ingredients

Serves 4

* 1 1/2 cups panko (Japanese breadcrumbs) (I also added some spices to my breadcrumbs…garlic powder, onion powder, oregano, salt)
* 2 tablespoons vegetable oil, such as safflower
* 4 boneless pork loin chops (6 to 8 ounces each)
* 3 tablespoons Dijon mustard
* Coarse salt and freshly ground pepper

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. On a rimmed baking sheet, toss panko with oil. Bake, tossing once, until golden brown, 7 to 10 minutes. Transfer to a medium bowl. Reduce oven temperature to 400 degrees.
2. Meanwhile, one at a time, place chops between two large pieces of plastic wrap. Using a meat mallet or the bottom of a small heavy pan, pound to make 1/4-inch-thick cutlets.
3. Dividing evenly, coat pork with mustard; season with salt and pepper. One at a time, dip cutlets into panko, pressing firmly to adhere.
4. Place a rack on a rimmed baking sheet; place pork on rack, and bake, without turning, until opaque throughout, 10 to 15 minutes.

6 Responses to “Crispy Breaded Pork Cutlets”

  1. Inna Says:

    Hi, first time commenting, but I couldn’t help myself. I’m a vegetarian who cooks lots of meet for hubs and that breading looks GREAT. I’ve always wanted to cook with panko crumbs instead of regular ones…this just reminds me that I really should give it a try soon!

  2. Creamy Corn « The Spicy Skillet Says:

    [...] The Spicy Skillet Ashley’s Experiences in the Kitchen « Crispy Breaded Pork Cutlets [...]

  3. Joelen Says:

    Yum… the coating looks fabulous!

  4. Melissa Says:

    These look really good, so does the corn! What a great dinner!

  5. [eatingclub] vancouver || js Says:

    I love how crispy the pork cutlets are! I have to try these soon, because the kids love cripsy stuff.

  6. Andrew Says:

    That chop looks very delicious. You have encouraged me to try Panko crumbs in the near future. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

