Here it is! Smoked Salmon Spread

Well, my day trip got pushed back to tomorrow so I was able to make it to the grocery store after all! Yay!

I picked the Smoked Salmon Spread for the Barefoot Bloggers for a specific reason. You see, I used to think smoked salmon was the most disgusting thing in the world even though I had never tried it. I just assumed since in general I don’t like fish, I wouldn’t like smoked salmon. Well, one day someone ordered a Bagel and Lox and forced me to try a bite. I couldn’t believe what I had been missing out on all these years! I loved it and ever since then I always order Bagels and Lox whenever possible.

So, my goal in choosing this recipe was to get somebody out there who thinks they don’t like smoked salmon to give it a shot and maybe discover that they actually like it…like I did! I knew that this recipe wouldn’t please everyone but I was ok with that. Being a part of a blogging group like this is partially about being coerced into trying things that you would maybe never try otherwise. I hope that this recipe provided that push for someone out there, whether they ended up liking it or not!

And ok, ok….I guess I should admit that choosing this recipe was also partially out of pure selfishness because I just looooovvveeee smoked salmon (as mentioned above) but I had never used it in my home. Normally I just order it at restaurants and cafes so I wanted to try using it in a recipe.

I must say, this spread was soooooooooo good! I am definitely going to have to make this many times in the future. This was my favorite way to eat it:

See that? It’s like a mini bagels and lox! A couple of capers and a tiny piece of onion. Yum! Wouldn’t that be so cute to serve at a brunch too??

To learn more about the Barefoot Bloggers go here.

For the recipe go here.

10 Responses to “Here it is! Smoked Salmon Spread”

  1. Karen Says:

    great choice, this was good. :)

  2. Joelen Says:

    Great choice for the BB and I too, like salmon. This spread is great as a dip, as a sandwich filling, as a veggie filling – I love that everyone has put their own spin on it…. and its savory too!

  3. Cathie Says:

    I think you made the right choice with this one!! We are going to have it on bagels for dinner tonight.
    ps.I love the photo on your blog header!!

  4. Esi Says:

    Yum! Thanks for picking this an opening people up to smoked salmon.

  5. Debinhawaii Says:

    Better late than never! ;-) Yours look great and I love the blue and white plate. Thanks for picking this recipe!

  6. Brenda Says:

    Consider yourself validated. I had never had smoked salmon because I just knew that I wouldn’t like it. I’ve since had it several times. Can you reach around and give yourself a pt on the back?

  7. Veronica Says:

    That would be nice to serve at a brunch already spread on the cracker like that-nice!

  8. tara Says:

    thanks so much for choosing such a great recipe! and isn’t the point of getting to choose a recipe in a group like this to be selfish in what you choose? :)

  9. Andrea Says:

    Thanks for chosing this recipe, even though I swapped out the salmon to make it vegetarian it was still a fun recipe to make, and I got to try horseradish for the first time :) Great choice!

  10. Rebecca Says:

    OK, you’ve sold me on it! I’m going to have to go back and do a Barefoot Rewind on this one. ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

