Barefoot Bloggers: Panzanella

I’m late on posting for Barefoot Bloggers once again! Last Thursday was the posting date but that happened to fall on what was probably one of the hardest days of my life so far. I won’t go into details but last week was really rough. Luckily though, my wonderful husband and my parents are helping me get through this tough time and I’m feeling better everyday. I actually made this dish well in advance but completely forgot about posting it on the post date.

So now back to your regularly scheduled blogging! Melissa of Melissa’s Kitchen chose this month’s Barefoot Bloggers recipe which is Panzanella. Panzanella is basically a bread salad and the ingredients remind me a lot of gazpacho, except it is chunky and not a soup! I am a HUGE fan of gazpacho so I had always wanted to try panzanella and this was finally my chance!

Can I just say YUM!?! I really, really, REALLY enjoyed this dish. My husband was out in the field doing Army stuff last week when I made this so I was able to enjoy it as a nice, light summer dinner. The dressing is just delicious, too! I plan on using the dressing recipe for other salads as well. The only downside is that the leftovers are no good since the bread soaks up too much of the dressing and gets soggy. You will definitely want to serve this right away!

To check out the rest of the Barefoot Bloggers’ Panzanella go here. Thanks to Melissa for a great summer recipe choice!

Panzanella

Source: Ina Garten

3 Tbsp. good olive oil

1 small french bread, cut into 1 inch cubes (6 cups)

1 tsp. kosher salt

2 large, ripe tomatoes, cut into 1 inch cubes

1 cucumber, unpeeled, seeded and sliced 1/2 inch thick

1 red bell pepper, seeded and cut into 1 inch cubes

1 yellow bell pepper, seeded and cut into 1 inch cubes

1/2 red onion, cut in 1/2 and thinly sliced

20 large basil leaves, coarsley chopped

3 Tbsp. capers, drained

For the vinaigrette:

1 tsp. finely minced garlic

1/2 tsp. Dijon mustard

3 Tbsp. Champagne vinegar

1/2 cup good olive oil

1/2 tsp. kosher salt

1/4 tsp. freshly ground black pepper

Heat the oil in a large saute pan.  Add the bread and salt; cook over low to medium heat, tossing frequently for 10 minutes or until nicely browned.  Add more oil as needed.

For the vinaigrette, whisk all the ingredients together.

In a large bowl, mix the tomatoes, cucumber, red pepper, yellow pepper, red onion, basil, and capers.  Add the bread cubes and toss with the vinaigrette.  Season liberally with salt and pepper.  Serve, or allow the salad to sit for about half an hour for the flavors to blend.

2 Responses to “Barefoot Bloggers: Panzanella”

  1. Joelen Says:

    This looks wonderful and so colorful!

  2. Rebecca Says:

    Oh, your pic looks like something from a cookbook. Great job!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

