Long Time No Blog

I’d like to apologize to any loyal readers that I have left out there in the blogosphere for my recent lack of posts. I have been cooking, although admittedly not on the same level as I normally do. I do have a few archived recipes that I should blog about soon but I’m not sure when that will happen. Let me take a moment to give you all my excuses for my absence so you will not think that I am simply a horrible, lazy blogger….

Excuse #1 New Job: I recently started substitute teaching to keep myself busy and make a little money. Surprisingly, I have worked everyday since the 3rd day of school and I’m totally exhausted when I get home most days. I have a new found respect for all teachers in this world. It’s hard work!

Excuse # 2 New Volunteer Position: I recently accepted a volunteer position called the Family Readiness Group Leader. Basically I am the go-to person for any questions, concerns, etc. that any of the spouses and/or parents of the soldiers in my husband’s unit have. I have to conduct monthly meetings and disseminate information to the families as it becomes available. It’s a huge time commitment and basically all of my time that I would be using for blogging is now going to this position. Hopefully things will slow down soon though and I can get back to blogging.

Excuse #3 New Dog: We recently adopted a 3 year old Terrier mix named Libby from a rescue shelter. She has brought so much joy to our house but it’s always an adjustment when you get a new dog. She’s absolutely adorable and so very well-behaved. I’m think I’m never getting another puppy again…it just feels so good to know that we “rescued” her and that we don’t have to potty train her!

Excuse #4 Absent Husband: My husband is at a month-long training session with his unit in preparation for their deployment to Iraq and it really affects my blogging because who wants to cook for themselves only?!? Plus, I will admit being at home in the evenings without him is a little depressing so even when I have intentions to cook it usually ends up not happening.

So I hope these excuses will help you understand why I’ve been so missing in action lately. I promise to start blogging again when time permits! Please stay tuned….

5 Responses to “Long Time No Blog”

  1. Joelen Says:

    Congrats on the new job….your volunteer opportunity… and on being a new fur mommy to Libby! And I surely cannot blame you for spending every possible second with your husband before his deployment. *hugs* No need to make any excuses since we all know how life comes at us. Hope things continue to go well for you, in everything you’ve got going on! :)

  2. Linds Says:

    I love your blog… it lets me know what’s going on with you! So much has been going on with you! When you get a second to breath, give me a call. Miss you!

  3. sweetteaintexas Says:

    Hi there!! Just wanted to let you know that I enjoy reading your blog & have given you an E for Excellence award.

    http://sweetteaintexas.wordpress.com/2008/09/22/yay-im-excellent/

    Have a fabulous day!!!

  4. lucia grijalva Says:

    QUERIDA ASHLEY:

    YOU HAVE NO NEED TO ASK FOR AN APOLOGICE….. BUT ANYWAYS I LOOOOVED TO READ YOUR “EXCUSES” GIVES ME A GOOD IDEA OF YOUR NEW LIFE…….

    AND WHAT A GOOD ONES…. I WILL BE AWARE TO SEE IF YOU CONTINUE WITH YOUR FUN AND EFFECTIVE COOKING BLOG….

    ALSO I AM GOING TO SHARE IT TO YOUR TÍA ROSALINA AND TÍA TITTI, I KNOW THEY WILL LOVE IT TOO!!!!

    TAKE CARE AND I WOULD LOVE TO SEE MORE PICTURES OF YOUR WEDDING……. YOUR MOM SENT US THE COMPLETE ALBUM BY MAIL, BUT WE WERE NOT ABLE TO OPEN IT IN MY PC….(TROUGH THIS BLOG I COULD SEE THEM PERFECTLY, COULD YOU USE THIS PATH???? FOR YOU TÍA LUCIA THAT IS NOT TOO CIBERNETIC!!! JE JE JE)

    TAKE CARE= CUIDATE MUCHO CHICA!!!!! TU TÍA LUCIA

  5. Madeline Says:

    I’m so excited about your new job on post, and just can’t believe what a perfect fit it is for you. We are SO excited to see you at Thanksgiving!! We’re going to stay at Libby and Wayne’s house……looks like a big gang is coming!! Maybe you should assign recipes to us?!! I’d love it…. xo
    Aunt Madeline

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

