Welcome!

Welcome to my brand new food blog! I am so excited to start one of these after having read so many people’s blogs over the past couple years.

I will warn you, however, that my entries may not be all that exciting over the next couple of months because my husband is in the Army and we are stationed in Ft. Huachuca, AZ for 4 1/2 months. During those months the Army is paying for us to live in a hotel for the entire time rather than getting an apartment. It’s interesting to say the least! I can’t really complain about the daily housekeeping that gets done while I’m at work everyday BUT I can definitely complain about the lack of a real kitchen. We stay in a “suite” with a kitchenette that consists of two TINY burners, a mini-fridge, no counter space whatsoever, and – the worst part – NO OVEN! That means no baking for me until April which comes at the worst possible time because right before we moved here I was really starting to enjoy experimenting with baking yeast bread. You’ll have to excuse my lack of excitement for the first couple months. I pretty much have to keep the meals to “one-pot” style things or else I just don’t have room.

My blog is named “The Spicy Skillet” because I love love love spicy foods and my hubby helped me think of the name.🙂 That doesn’t mean that there won’t be sweet treats featured though…I have a major sweet tooth!! I hope you come back and read some of my entries every now and then and please feel free to leave comments/opinions on what I could do better, etc. Thanks for visiting and “yall come back soon now ya hear!”(That’s the Texan in me coming out now.)

3 Responses to “Welcome!”

  1. MrsPresley Says:

    congrats on your new blog🙂 cute title. i LOVE anything spicy as well! i don’t know how i would survive without an oven… but hey, it’s an experience, right?🙂 gotta make the most of it. can’t wait to see what you cook up in your little kitchenette…

  2. spkr602 Says:

    I love the name of your blog! Looking forward to some wonderful recipes.

  3. aunt ellie Says:

    Hi Sha Sha (now that you are an adult, that name sounds quite exotic)
    Love your blog. Makes me feel like you are nearby.
    Katie loved the fruit you made at the deck party. Did you add anything besides fruit to the mix? I thought you mentioned that but Katie disagrees. PLease solve our controversy! I can’t wait to try some of your recipes. I’m so proud of you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! LOve ya, Aunt Ellen

Leave a Reply

