You call that Spicy?!?

Tonight I made Spicy Chicken and Orzo Skillet out of the Pillsbury Simply One Dish magazine I purchased the other day. As I mentioned in the previous post, my husband and I love spicy food so we were excited to try this. I was definitely disappointed in the “spice-factor” though. I ended up having to “kick it up a bit” as Emeril would say and it still wasn’t all that spicy. I love the fresh veggies in the recipe and the array of colors. I wasn’t sure if I would like the garbanzo beans (aka chickpeas) in it but they didn’t bother me at all. I don’t know that they added anything to the dish other than making it more filling, which it definitely was! My husband, Alex, also brought to my attention how it’s actually a very healthy dish too! I will include the nutritional info at the bottom of the page (as written in the magazine). Overall it was good and hubby gave it a thumbs up but next time I will add even more spices.

Spicy Chicken and Orzo Skillet

Alex gave it the thumbs up!

Alex Thumbs Up!

And, just for kicks, Maddie was mad she didn’t get any.

Maddie

Spicy Chicken and Orzo Skillet (Source: Pillsbury Simply One Dish magazine)

Makes 4 servings. My changes in Italics.

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into thin bite-size strips
  • 1 clove garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 c. baby carrots, quartered lenthwise
  • 1 small onion, cut into thin wedges
  • 3/4 c. uncooked rosamarina or orzo pasta
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp italian seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes (I used at least a full tsp. if not more)
  • I added 1 tsp of garlic salt
  • 1/2 c. water
  • 1 can (15 oz) chickpeas or garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can (14 oz) chicken broth
  • 2 cups fresh spinach leaves, cut into thin strips

1. In 12 in skillet, heat oil over medium-high heat until hot. Add chicken and garlic; cook and stir 3 minutes. Add carrots and onion; cover and cook 2 to 3 minutes or until all vegetables are crisp tender, stirring once.

2. Stir in all remaining ingredients except spinach. Heat to boiling. Reduce heat; cover and simmer 12 to 15 minutes, stirring occasionally, until most of liquid is absorbed and orzo is tender.

3. Stir in spinach; cover and cook 2 to 3 minutes longer or until spinach is wilted.

Per Serving (1 1/2 cups): Calories 480; Total Fat 11g; Sodium 530mg; Dietary Fiber 8g

Leave a Reply

