Oven-less Chicken Pot Pie

I haven’t updated in almost a week now because basically I haven’t cooked in that long. When we got back from Vegas on Tuesday we had NO groceries left and didn’t have time to go grocery shopping until today (Saturday). So we scrounged a lot and/or went out to eat. I’m glad that I finally was able to make it to the grocery store today because I HATE not knowing what we are going to be eating.

All of my meals I have planned for the week are recipes that I have gotten from other people’s food blogs. So heads up! You may see one of your recipes on here soon.🙂 Tonight’s dish was from Melissa’s blog: http://itsmelissaskitchen.blogspot.com/2008/02/chicken-pot-pie-kind-of.html

I had been craving Chicken Pot Pie like crazy but not having an oven had left me hopeless. When I saw this recipe on Melissa’s blog I just KNEW I had to make it because it was non-oven friendly!! It turned out absolutely delicious!! Totally hit the spot. By the way, I baked up the biscuits in our toaster-oven, in case you were wondering how an oven-less girl managed to have biscuits with her dinner. My changes are in italics.

Oven-less Chicken Pot Pie (itsmelissaskitchen.blogspot.com)

  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 3/4 cup half-and-half (I used fat-free half and half)
  • 2 1/4 cups chicken broth (I ended up using 2 cans b/c I didn’t want t waste part of one)
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 clove of minced garlic
  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1 large sweet potato, cut into 1-inch pieces (I used 3 large red potatoes–hubby doesn’t “do” sweet potatoes)
  • 2 packages frozen veggies (I used 1 package of peas & carrots and 1 package of broccoli)
  • 1 teaspoon thyme
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried minced garlic (I used a mixture of garlic salt and garlic powder)
  • Handful of chopped fresh parsley
  • Buttermilk Biscuits

In a small bowl, mix flour, salt, and pepper. Slowly whisk in half-and-half until smooth. Set aside.

In a stockpot, over medium heat, heat broth to boiling.

Meanwhile, melt butter in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add onion and saute 4 minutes. Add chicken ( I added garlic at this point) and saute until just cooked through. Remove from heat.

Add potato to boiling broth. Cover and simmer 4 minutes. Add frozen veggies and return to a boil. Cover and simmer unti potato is tender (about 6 minutes). Uncover and stir in onions, chicken, and half-and-half mixture. Increase heat to medium-high and cook for 1 minute or until thickened slightly, stirring constantly. Add thyme and garlic and cook for another minute stirring constantly. Stir in parsley and serve with buttermilk biscuits (I split the biscuits in half and served on top of the filling).

Serves 4

Hands on time: 20 minutes

Total time: 20 minutes

Chicken Pot Pie

One Response to “Oven-less Chicken Pot Pie”

  1. Melissa Says:

    Glad you liked it. I was wondering if you were going to make biscuits without an oven!

Leave a Reply

