Stuffed!

Anything that claims to be stuffed with chiles AND cheddar cheese is a good thing for me and my husband. That’s why when I saw this recipe on Crystal’s Creations I just knew we had to try it! It was actually my first attempt at stuffed chicken and I was a little concerned with how I was supposed to “bake in a 375 degree oven” considering the fact that we have no oven. Luckily, the toaster oven came through for us again and worked like a charm!! The only problem is you have to watch it closely to make sure it doesn’t get too brown on the tops. I burnt a couple of biscuits earlier today because of that. Oops!

My only complaint on the recipe is that it wasn’t spicy enough (I have to live up to my blog’s name, don’t I?!). I had a can of regular green chiles on hand so that’s what I used but next time I would DEFINITELY use hot canned chiles and possibly add some other spices into the breadcrumb coating as well.  It might even be delicious with some chopped hot pickled jalepenos…but I’m just brainstorming here.🙂

Chile and Cheddar Stuffed Chicken

Yum look at that ooeey gooey cheesy goodness! I served this with broccoli rice and a side salad. Delish!

Chile and Cheddar Stuffed Chicken: (from Crystal’s Creations)

4 boneless skinless chicken breasts pounded as thin as you can get them
1 1/2 cups cheddar

1/4 cup light sour cream
1/2 of a 4 oz can of diced green chilies (I used a whole can)

Melted butter
Breadcrumbs to roll chicken roll-up in

Preheat oven to 375 F. Spray a medium sized flat baking sheet with nonstick spray. Pound chicken breasts until they are very thin, about 1/4 inch.

In a bowl with a fork, mash together cheese, chilies with juice, and sour cream until barely combined.

Spread 1/4 of the cheese mixture over each chicken breast, avoiding the very edges. Roll up the chicken, starting with smallest end, and secure each chicken breast with 2 toothpicks. Roll the chicken in the butter and then breadcrumbs.

Place chicken on baking sheet and bake about 30 minutes or 160 degrees by meat thermometer, or until the chicken is firm, but not hard, to the touch.

3 Responses to “Stuffed!”

  1. Jaime Says:

    this looks delicious! i haven’t seen this one floating one….although i did see a similar recipe on elly says opa

  2. Chase Me Says:

    Guess what I’m having for dinner tomorrow!!!

  3. katie102006 Says:

    Wow this looks delicious! Especially for something hearty on a cold evening like last!

Leave a Reply

