Easy AND Delicious!

When I saw this recipe on a blog called My Baking Heart I just KNEW I had to try it. We LOVE mexican food and all kinds of mexican-y dishes. But I have to admit, the main draw to this recipe was how ridiculously e.a.s.y. it looked. Only six ingredients. No vegetable chopping involved. Ready in about 20 minutes. Basically a heaven-sent for a busy weeknight dinner!

I was a little concerned that there wouldn’t be enough flavor in the soup since the ingredients are so straight-forward but YUM, was it ever good! Alex said “Oh yum” at least 4 times while eating it which is always a good sign! This is probably going to become a regular rotation in our menus for the week!

Chicken Taco Soup

Chicken Taco Soup (from My Baking Heart blog- http://mybakingheart.wordpress.com)

2 cooked chicken breasts, chopped (I used the George Foreman to grill them and then chopped into pieces)

1 can corn (drained)

1 can Ranch Beans (I didn’t drain this one)

1 can black beans (drained and rinsed)

1 md. jar Pace picante (Obviously, we went for HOT picante)

1 can chicken broth

Pour all ingredients into a medium to large stockpot. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer for 15-20 minutes.

Now, this can be changed in a lot of different ways. You can use hamburger meat instead of chicken, cook and shred your own chicken breasts, use frozen corn instead of canned (which is what I normally do), etc. You can also top with cheese, sour cream, green onions, tortilla strips… you get the picture.I served with cheese, green onions, and chips (as you can see in the picture). I would have served with a dollop of sour cream too but our sour cream was nasty.😦

One Response to “Easy AND Delicious!”

  1. MrsV Says:

    i’m going to add this to my “to try” list!

Leave a Reply

