Shrimp Lo Mein

Shrimp Lo Mein

I was searching for shrimp recipes on Cooking Light’s website to use for our Lenten Friday meal of the week and this is what I came across. It was quite yummy despite one major issue. The recipe calls for “Fresh Lo Mein Noodles” from a Chinese grocery store. Well, I just so happen to have a Chinese grocery store down the road from our hotel so I stopped in to make a purchase. Unfortunately for me, the gentleman who worked in the store did not speak a lick of English and I’m pretty sure was somewhat dubious of the red-headed, freckled, white girl walking through his store. He didn’t seem to eager to help me when I asked him “Where are the fresh Lo Mein noodes, please?” He pointed at something in the freezer that looked like it could pass for Lo Mein noodles but it was all in another language on the package so I couldn’t be sure. Well, they weren’t. I’m pretty sure they were the type of noodles that you would use in a soup because they were VERY slimy after I cooked them. Somewhat disappointing, but luckily the dish was still tasty!

This is what the packaging looked like so you don’t make the same mistake as me:

Wrong Noodles

Shrimp Lo Mein (source: Cooking Light)

Fresh lo mein noodles are available in Asian markets – often in the freezer case. If you can’t find them there, substitute fresh fettuccine.

2 1/2 tablespoons soy sauce (I used more than this)

8 ounces large shrimp, peeled, deveined, and coarsely chopped (I didn’t chop my shrimp)
8 ounces fresh lo mein noodles
1 1/2 tablespoons peanut oil, divided (I used plain ‘ole veggie oil)
3 cups thinly vertically sliced onion
5 cups broccoli florets (about 1 pound)
2 cups red bell pepper strips
1 tablespoon minced fresh garlic
1 tablespoon minced peeled fresh ginger (I used TJ’s bottled crushed ginger)
3/4 cup fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup unsalted cashews, coarsely chopped (I used salted)

Combine the soy sauce and shrimp; cover and refrigerate 30 minutes. Drain through a sieve over a bowl, reserving soy sauce.

Prepare noodles according to package directions, omitting the salt and fat. Drain and rinse; drain well. Toss noodles with 1 teaspoon oil. Set aside.

Heat 2 teaspoons peanut oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add onion; stir-fry 3 minutes. Add broccoli and bell pepper; stir-fry 3 minutes. Add garlic and ginger; cook 1 minute, stirring constantly. Remove vegetable mixture from pan.

Heat 1 1/2 teaspoons peanut oil in pan. Add shrimp, and stir-fry 1 minute. Add the reserved soy sauce, broth, and salt, and bring to a boil. Add noodles, vegetable mixture, and nuts, and toss well to combine.
Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 2 1/4 cups)

CALORIES 408 (26% from fat); FAT 12g (sat 2.1g,mono 5g,poly 3.5g); PROTEIN 26g; CHOLESTEROL 128mg; CALCIUM 122mg; SODIUM 941mg; FIBER 8.3g; IRON 5.2mg; CARBOHYDRATE 51.8g

Leave a Reply

