Total Comfort Food a la Mom

Chicken N Dumplings

This recipe was a regular fixture in our house growing up. This is also the recipe that my brother and I always requested when we came home from college. It’s good ‘ole fashion comfort food that you just can’t get in a college dormitory cafeteria. I had never made it before because it was always my mom’s “thing” but knowing that I wasn’t going to be able to get her to make it for me anytime soon with us moving to Arizona I decided it was time to take things into my own hands. I was totally surprised at how easy it was, granted I did the “cheater’s version” by buying a rotisserie chicken and using boxed stock. Alex loves this recipe too!

By the way, I almost FREAKED when I realized I had forgotten to buy Lawry’s Seasoned Salt because that is what makes this recipe. However, Alex came to the rescue and whipped up a “homemade” seasoned salt based on some recipes he found online. It was delicious and worked just as well.

Edit: My father has “demanded” that I notate the fact that he turned me on to putting Lawry’s Seasoning Salt on mom’s Chicken and Dumplings. Ok Dad. Whatever you say. And I promise I’ll start featuring some more “Texan” foods from here on out.

Mom’s Chicken ‘n Dumplins

· Boil 1 whole chicken in water w/celery, carrots, onion & peppercorns until tender (or cheat and buy rotisserie chicken and a couple boxes of stock)

· Debone chicken & cut into bite-size chunks

· Saute chopped onion, celery, garlic & carrots in some veg. oil until tender (not the ones from stock…I don’t measure veggies…just however much you like)

· Add stock & chicken and bring to boil

· Make dumpling recipe on box of Bisquick (I make 1-1/2 recipe b/c we like LOTS of dumplings)

· Drop dumplings into boiling stock…cook 10 minutes uncovered & 10 minutes covered (it tells you on box)

· Add Lawry’s season salt to taste!🙂

Leave a Reply

