Green food is not always a bad thing…

Parmesan Crusted Pork Chops

Yes, you are seeing it right…those are GREEN mashed potatoes and green beer in the background. Haha…I get such a kick out of myself!  Happy St. Patrick’s Day! Instead of going out to eat or eating “authentic” Irish food like corned beef, I prefer to be quirky and come up with green food at home in my own kitchen. When else can you eat green food and not gross people out?!

Now enough about the green stuff…the main dish, Parmesan Crusted Pork Chops, is quite possibly my FAVORITE way to eat pork in the whole world. It is DEL-ICIOUS and so so easy. It’s a recipe from Giada De Laurentis on the Food Network which, to me, explains why it’s so darn good. I’ve tried very few of her recipes that I didn’t like. It had been a while since I had made this recipe and while eating Alex and I kept asking “Why don’t we make this more often?!?”

I am also submitting this recipe as my entry to the “Tasty Tools” event hosted by Joelen. The purpose of the event is to challenge participants to highlight their use of certain specified kitchen tools. This week’s tool was a microplane/grater which is one of my most frequently used tools in the kitchen. Most often I use my microplane for grating parmesan cheese into wonderfully fine shreds, but I also use it to zest citrus or grate whole nutmeg. For the Parmesan Crusted Pork I used my microplane to grate the parmesan and I also chose to add a bit of grated lemon zest to the coating.

Microplane

Parmesan Crusted Pork Chops
Recipe Courtesy of Giada De Laurentiis

Ingredients:
2 large eggs (I used Egg Beaters)

¾ cup dried Italian-style bread crumbs
¾ cup freshly grated Parmesan
4 pork chops
salt and pepper
3 tbsp. olive oil

Directions:
Whisk the eggs in a bowl to blend. Place the bread crumbs in a plate. Place the parmesan cheese in another plate. Sprinkle the pork chops generously with salt and pepper. Coat the chops completely with the cheese, patting to adhere. Dip the chops into the egg, then coat completely with the bread crumbs, patting to adhere.

(I’m lazy and low on counter space so I just combine the parmesan and the bread crumbs in the same plate. I also added some lemon zest to the parm/bread crumb mixture. I dipped the chops in the egg and then dipped in the parm/crumb/zest mixture to coat. They turned out just as good as the first time when I followed the recipe instructions exactly.)

Heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add the pork chops, in batches if necessary, and cook until golden brown, about 6 minutes per side. Transfer the chops to a plate and serve with lemon wedges.

One Response to “Green food is not always a bad thing…”

  1. Mom Harris Says:

    Ashley, This is your Father. I demand recognition of the fact that it was me that turned you on to Lawry’s Season Salt on Mom’s dumplings. I deserve at least a footnote. Also, you are a Texan. Please include some good old Texas food once in a while. Suggestions: 1) venison chili, no beans 2) brisket w/ Dad’s famous “Fire in the Hole” beans 3) fajitas 4) venison backstrap with jalapeno dewberry sauce 5) smoked jalapeno cheese venison sausage with sauteed potatoes and apple sauce (YUM) 6)blackberry cobbler 7)Fredericksburg peach cobbler w/ Bluebell Homemade Vanilla icecream (STOP!) 8) Mom’s Worldwide Famous Duck and Andouille Sausage Gumbo. 9) Moms eqaully famous Cheekin Enchiladas There. That should hold you for a while.
    Love ya,
    Dad

Leave a Reply

