Rachael Ray Success

Beef Rice Noodle Soup

Ok, I admit it. I used to be a HUGE Rachael Ray fan. I watched her back to back episodes of 30 Minute Meals every single night when I got home from school. Since then, she has gradually started to wear on me with her little chuckles and cheesy dialog. I guess I started to see what other people (like my husband) always found so annoying about her. I do however respect the fact that she shows people the excuse “I don’t have time to cook” is not a valid one. Who doesn’t have 30 minutes?! It takes longer than that to go to the drive-thru and come back!

This is a recipe I bookmarked a LONG time ago and just recently stumbled across again. Alex and I both love Vietnamese noodles so I decided it was time to give it a try at home.  Although this is not an “authentic” Vietnamese noodle recipe, it tasted a lot like the ones we get at our favorite restaurant! I really liked the fact that it uses deli roast beef as the meat to save time. It was probably more like a 20-minute meal from start to finish. I admit I was a little apprehensive about how the deli roast beef would taste since it is not something I eat normally but it worked really well with the other flavors in the soup. Another thing, I just used regular vermicelli noodles because I couldn’t find “rice vermicelli”. Alex says this is a “keeper” and I “can make it again”.

Beef Rice-Noodle Soup

From Every Day with Rachael Ray
November 2006

FOUR SERVINGS
Prep Time: 10 min
Cook Time: 10 min

  • 5 ounces rice noodles (rice vermicelli) I used regular vermicelli noodles
  • 2 cups bean sprouts (about 3/4 pound)
  • 1 pound deli roast beef, cut into 1/2-inch strips
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1 jalapeño chile, seeded and thinly sliced crosswise
  • 3 scallions, thinly sliced (white and light green parts only)
  • One 14-ounce can beef broth
  •  Salt
  •  1/3 cup cilantro leaves
  •  Lime wedges, for serving

1. Add the rice noodles to a medium saucepan filled with water and bring to a boil. Cook until tender, about 3 minutes. Drain, rinse with cold water and drain again. Divide the cooked rice noodles, bean sprouts and roast beef strips among 4 soup bowls.
2. Heat the oil in the same pan over medium heat. Add the jalapeño and scallions and cook, stirring occasionally, until softened, about 2 minutes. Add the beef broth and 2 cups water and bring to a boil. Cook, uncovered, for 10 minutes. Season the soup with salt and divide among the bowls. Garnish with the cilantro leaves and lime wedges. (We added Sriacha hot sauce to kick it up a bit…so yummy!)

Leave a Reply

