Movin’ On Up

Moving Graphic

I am just going to apologize for the lack of posts this past week and in the week to come. We are moving to Fort Hood, Texas! If you haven’t already figured it out, my husband is in the US Army and therefore moving is part of our lives now. For the past 3 months he has been stationed at Fort Huachuca, AZ and we have been living in a HOTEL ROOM without a dishwasher, oven, or a normal sized sink/refrigerator. It has been interesting to say the least. I will include some photos for your enjoyment.

Here is our microwave, cupboard (top left), pantry (bottom left), tiny sink, and mini-fridge:

Hotel Fridge

Here is our TEENY-TINY stovetop with two burners that won’t even fit two pans on them at the same time so really it’s only one burner (oh and notice the lack of oven):

Hotel Stovetop

Needless to say, I am SO READY to get out of this hotel room and into a normal sized living space and kitchen. We officially check out on Wednesday (April 16th) and then we will spend a couple of days staying at my parent’s house in Katy, TX. Then we will drive to Fort Hood and try to get our hands on a house to rent (with a nice kitchen of course!). Once we have found said house we will be renting a UHaul and moving all of our junk from Katy to Fort Hood. I am sure while we are staying at my parent’s house I will make use of finally having an oven for the first time in months and will (hopefully) blog about what I bake.

Please stay tuned for yummy oven-cooked goodness in the days to come. “See” yall in Texas!!

P.S. To avoid being labeled an ungrateful b*tch, I will say I am throughly going to miss having a free, hot breakfast in the hotel lounge every morning and having my bed made and the room tidied by the housekeepers while I’m at work every day!

2 Responses to “Movin’ On Up”

  1. Madeline Says:

    We hope to see you when you’re in Houston!! I’m sure Drew Jr. and Blake would be glad to help you and Alex pack up a u-haul if they’re free. I can’t wait to see pics of your new home! xoxo Madeline

  2. Double-Decker Chicken Nachos « The Spicy Skillet Says:

    […] are nacho freaks. In fact, it was the first thing we made in an oven after our 3 month stint in an ovenless hotel room. I must say, those take the cake for the best nachos ever simply because we had been oh-so-deprived […]

Leave a Reply

