Margarita Cupcakes

Margarita Cupcakes

Wow I’ve been MIA for the past week and a half or so! It’s funny because I thought I’d be blogging constantly since I’m not working right now but it’s almost had the opposite effect. Job searching has been taking up a LOT of my time. Well, anyway I HAVE been cooking lots of yummy things so expect several catch-up posts soon.

The first of those yummy things are these Margarita Cupcakes that I made for Cinco de Mayo weekend. I had originally seen these on the blog Confections of a Foodie Bride and immediately filed the recipe away to try sometime. I just love her blog. It is definitely one of my all-time favorites!

So I decided it was finally time to give the Margarita Cupcakes a try and boy am I glad I did! They were so so so delicious! Once again, the icing was the main draw to me. I could probably have eaten a whole bowl of that lime buttercream icing by itself it was so good. Oh and call me an alcoholic but I love that these have actual alcohol in them! In my book, if you’re gonna name something after an alcoholic beverage they sure as heck better have real alcohol in them!🙂

Margrarita Cupcakes

Margarita Cupcakes

Source: Confections of a Foodie Bride

9 oz Margarita mix
3 oz tequila
3/4 oz Grand Marnier (or other orange liqueur)
White cake mix (No-pudding mix works best)
3 egg whites
2 Tbsp vegetable oil
1 Tbsp lime zest
1 recipe Lime Buttercream Frosting (recipe follows)

Mix together the margarita mix, tequila, and Grand Marnier in a large glass or spouted bowl. You will use 1 1/4 cup of this in the cupcake mix. Put the remainder in the fridge to chill and then consume how you see fit.

In a stand mixer, add the cake mix, egg whites, vegetable oil, lime zest, and 1 1/4 cup of the margarita mixture. Mix on low for about 30 seconds and then increase to medium speed for two minutes (the batter will still be a bit lumpy).

Spoon the batter into a prepared muffin pan (fill the cups somewhere between 2/3 and 3/4 full) and bake at 350 for about 25 minutes or until a toothpick registers “done” in the center cupcake. Remove the pan from the oven and cool 5 minutes. Remove the cupcakes and cool completely on a baking rack.

Once the cupcakes have cooled, make the frosting for the cupcakes.

Lime Buttercream Frosting
4 cups confectioner’s sugar
1 stick unsalted butter at room temperature
1/8 tsp salt
3 Tbsp lime juice
green food color (optional)

Add the butter, confectioner’s sugar, salt, food coloring, and lime juice to the stand mixer and mix on low using the paddle attachment until combined. Turn the speed to med-high until the icing is fluffy. Add the icing to a pastry bag or use a spatula/knife to frost the cupcakes.

Note: Use additional lime juice or water to thin the frosting, if necessary.

2 Responses to “Margarita Cupcakes”

  1. Courtney P. Says:

    Okay, I’m sold with these “alcoholic” cupcakes! I love you and I love love love your blog!

  2. Anne Says:

    Girl, I just made these for a party tomorrow and taste tested one (plus some icing…) already! They’re awesome!

Leave a Reply

