Scalloped Potatoes

Potatoes

(Sorry for the terrible picture…I was in a hurry to eat.) This past weekend we had the pleasure of having our first house guests since moving in to our new house, and they just happened to be my in-laws! Unfortunately they live up in Kansas and Alex and I don’t make it there as often as we would like so when we do get to have them come visit it’s a big deal! Alex and I wanted to put together a feast for them so Alex was in charge of grilling ribs and beer-can chicken and I was in charge of sides. I did a quick search on my Google Reader for a potato dish and this Scalloped Potato recipe popped up on Sweet, Savory, Southern blog. I love this blog because she reminds me a lot of myself with her Southern comfort food. I knew it would be a winner and it definitely was! They weren’t quite as creamy as they are in her picture but that was completely my fault. I upped the number of potatoes to make sure I had enough for all 4 of us and then just kind of guessed as to how much more cream and stock to add. Well, it ended up being way too much cream and stock and it wouldn’t thicken. So then I poured off a bunch of the liquid and ended up pouring off too much of it! Ugh!!! I’m not that smart sometimes. Anyway, if you make the recipe as written and don’t screw it up like I did I’m sure it will be even MORE delicious than ours were! I also think next time I will throw in some fresh rosemary from my herb garden!

Scalloped Potatoes

Source: Sweet, Savory, Southern

5-6 red potatoes, washed and thinly sliced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 a large onion, chopped
2 Tbsp butter
1 cup chicken broth
1 cup heavy cream (or whole milk)
1 Tbsp italian seasoning
1 1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese or blend of cheeses
1 tsp salt
1 tsp pepper

Begin by preheating the oven to 400 degrees. In a dutch oven or other heavy pan melt 2 Tbsp butter over medium heat. Add the chopped onion and cook 3-4 minutes until the onion cooks down a little. Add the garlic and italian seasoning and cook about a minute. Next add the chicken broth, milk, salt and pepper. Place the sliced potatoes into the pan, cover and let simmer about 10 minutes, until the potatoes are slightly tender. Top with the cheese and place the pan into the oven for about 15 minutes. Let sit 10 min before serving.

2 Responses to “Scalloped Potatoes”

  1. Renea Says:

    So glad you liked the recipe!

  2. Angie Says:

    The potatoes were wonderful, so was the chicken, ribs, and roasted brocolli! Not that I’m partial or anything. You are both awesome cooks.

Leave a Reply

