Tilapia Piccata with Orzo

Edit: For some reason, Snapfish (the website I use to host my pictures for my blog) has decided to replace my picture of Tilapia Piccata with a picture of my Fajita Enchiladas. I apologize for the confusion this may cause. Keep scrolling down to see another Tilapia picture.

Tilapia Piccata

We are not fish people. I will just start out with saying that. It’s not our thing. However, fish has definite health benefits and it’s light and relatively cheap. That being said, I resolved to try and incorporate one fish dish per week and I thought a safe way to start would be with a very mild fish like Tilapia in a no-fail preparation like Piccata. This recipe is from a March 2007 Cooking Light magazine and is quite good. I still couldn’t help but think it would have been better with chicken or veal but that’s just the fish-hater inside of me. So I guess what I’m trying to say is for fish, this was very good.🙂

Tilapia Piccata

Source: Cooking Light magazine March 2008

Ingredients

8 ounces uncooked orzo (about 1 1/2 cups)
3/4 cup grape tomatoes, halved
1/2 teaspoon salt, divided
3 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
1/4 teaspoon black pepper, divided
3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
4 (6-ounce) tilapia fillets
3 tablespoons butter, divided
1/4 cup white wine
3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
1 tablespoon drained capers
Preparation
Cook pasta according to package directions, omitting salt and fat. Drain; stir in tomatoes, 1/4 teaspoon salt, parsley, and 1/8 teaspoon pepper. Set aside and keep warm.

Combine remaining 1/4 teaspoon salt, remaining 1/8 teaspoon pepper, and flour in a large shallow dish. Dredge fish in flour mixture. Melt 1 tablespoon butter in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add fish to pan; cook 1 1/2 minutes on each side or until fish flakes easily when tested with a fork or until desired degree of doneness. Remove fish from pan; keep warm.

Add wine, juice, and capers to pan; cook 30 seconds. Remove from heat. Add remaining 2 tablespoons butter to pan; stir until butter melts. Serve fish with sauce and pasta.

Yields 4 servings (serving size: 1 fillet, 3/4 cup pasta mixture, and about 1 tablespoon sauce)

Nutritional Information
CALORIES 461(24% from fat); FAT 12.5g (sat 6.4g,mono 3.1g,poly 1.1g); PROTEIN 41.7g; CHOLESTEROL 108mg; CALCIUM 30mg; SODIUM 512mg; FIBER 2.6g; IRON 1.6mg; CARBOHYDRATE 45.3g

Tilapia Piccata

5 Responses to “Tilapia Piccata with Orzo”

  1. katie102006 Says:

    This looks amazing! So fresh but so filling. YUM!

  2. Liz Says:

    I cooked this meal last night and Daniel and I really enjoyed it! I couldn’t find my camera, but still want to post a picture. Do you mind if I use yours?

  3. aggieashley07 Says:

    Katie – Thank you! That means a lot coming from someone who is as talented as you are!

    Liz – Of course you can use my picture! No problem at all! I’m glad yall enjoyed it.🙂

  4. Tilapia Piccata with Orzo « Graced by Food Says:

    […] The Spicy Skillet and originally from Cooking […]

  5. Madeline Says:

    Ashley,
    I had one awesome fish dish when I got married that I cooked once a week ( I only had 4 choices) and it was hilarious, b/c just like the others it was really SPICY! Finally after 3 weeks my new husband said to please give him some plain steak & potatoes! Sounds like Alex is much more of a trooper!!! I’ll look for the fish recipe, actually would love to make it again now 24 years later! 🙂

Leave a Reply

