Cherry Crisp

Cherry Crisp

I almost squealed the other day when I walked in my grocery store and saw CHERRIES were on sale!!!! Wooohoooo! Cherries are one of my favorite fruits and they bring to mind the beginning of summer to me. My mom is a cherry fanatic too so I have fond memories of sitting around snacking on cherries with her on hot summer days and spitting the pits into a bowl. Back then what I loved about cherries was their sweet, tart taste, but now that I’m a grown-up (sorta) I also can appreciate how BEAUTIFUL cherries really are. I bought them with the intention of hoarding them to myself and snacking on them but when I got them home I realized they were just too beautiful not to blog about. I figured it would be a pretty lame blog post if I just posted “How to snack on cherries” so I decided to bake with them.

I did a quick search through one of my favorite go-to cookbooks The Joy of Cooking (given to me by my grandma) and settled on a Cherry Crisp. Crisps and crumbles are one of my favorite desserts. They are the perfect way to really show off the fruit because the only other element is a little crunchy-sweet topping. The crisp turned out mouthwatering good!! The picture I took does NOT do it justice!!

Cherry Crisp

Cherry Crisp

Adapted from: Joy of Cooking cookbook p. 692 “Apple or Fruit Crisp”

6 to 8 servings

-1 bag fresh cherries, pitted (JOC says 2 1/2 lbs but I’m pretty sure I didn’t have that much. Just use as many as you want.)

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Have ready an unbuttered 2-inch deep 2-quart baking dish. Spread cherries evenly in the baking dish.

Combine in a bowl:

-3/4 c. all purpose flour

-3/4 c. packed brown sugar

-1/2 tsp. salt

-1 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon

-1/4 tsp freshly grated nutmeg

Add:

-1/2 c. (1 stick) cold unsalted butter, cut into small pieces

Using a pastry blender, 2 knives, or a food processor, cut the butter into the dry ingredients until the mixture resembles coarse bread crumbs. Scatter the topping evenly over the fruit. Bake until the topping is golden brown and the juices are bubbling, 50 to 55 minutes. Serve hot or cold with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream.

Ashley’s Tip on Pitting Cherries:

I don’t have a cherry-pitter but I wannntttt oneeeee (said in a whiny voice). If you’re deprived like me, the easiest way I have found to pit the cherries is to use a paring knife. I just cut the cherries in half but cutting around the pit. Then pull apart and squeeze out the pit. Some people I know just use a large knife and mash down on the cherry with the side of the knife until the pit pops out but I have two problems with this method: 1) too messy with pits flying everywhere and 2) you lose too much of the yummy juices and such.  My method is still pretty time consuming and I came pretty close to slicing the tip of my thumb off a couple times but it gets the job done in the best way I have found without a pitter. Basically what I think I’m trying to say is GO BUY A CHERRY PITTER.🙂

3 Responses to “Cherry Crisp”

  1. Madeline Says:

    OK this is a family deal. Every year when the Ranier cherries come out I get some for Drew, even though they are crazy expensive, b/c when we were in Seattle on a trip he just went crazy over them. I recommend a trip there as a couple sometime, so much fun. (We just went 2 years ago, and it is one of my 4 favorite trips out of 24 years!) But I also buy the ones that are just in season/on sale. It is so cute how my kids also have taken to loving cherries. When I grew up all I knew was the bright red ones in my Shirley Temples! xoxo

  2. katie102006 Says:

    I was thinking, last time I was pitting cherries, I need one too. i make goods with cherries SO often, it would save a *lot* of time. I wonder if I could use it with olives too…hhmmm..

    But your cherry crisp looks FABULOUS!!! YUM!

  3. bethany (lilcrablegs) Says:

    Thank you for explaining the “pitting process.” 🙂 I have never used fresh cherries before (gasp, I know) and I had no idea how to do this. I think I will go to the store and buy a cherry pitter before I try on my own!

Leave a Reply

