Chocolate Chip Blondies

Blondies

(Ahem, please excuse the doggie nose in the background of that photo…she was very intrigued by my blondies.)

The other day my husband had to pull a 24 hour staff duty shift (he’s in the Army, remember?) and he called me about half way through his shift asking if I would be willing to bake something for him and the 4 other guys who were working with him all day and night. I was thrilled that he actually requested I bake something since he’s not a big sweets person so I obliged.

I had seen Joelen’s blondies and decided I must make them. Believe it or not, I had never made blondies before until now. They will definitely be a more frequent occurence though! They are so delicious and chewy. The only problem I had was that after cooking for the specified time I pulled them out because the top looked done. However, upon cutting them into bars I realized they were still quite under-cooked. At that point though it was too late to put them back in because they had already cooled so I just let it be. Next time I’ll know to increase the baking time.

Milk Chocolate Caramel Brownies

Source: seen on Joelen’s Culinary Adventures and Orignally from 2005 America’s Test Kitchen Live! cookbook

1 1/2 cups unbleached all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter, melted & cooled
1 1/2 cups packed light brown sugar
2 large eggs
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup milk chocolate caramel morsels (Nestle brand) (I just used semi-sweet choc. chips b/c that’s what I had on hand)
1 cup walnuts, chopped (I omitted b/c my husband doesn’t like nuts)

1. Adjust an oven rack to the middle position and heat the oven to 350 degrees. Line a 13 by 9 inch baking pan with two pieces of foil. Spray the foil-lined pan with nonstick cooking spray.

2. Whisk the flour, baking powder and salt together in a medium bowl; set aside.

3. Whist the melted butter and brown sugar together in a medium bowl until combined. Add the eggs and vanilla and mix well. Using a rubber sptula, fold the dry ingredients into the egg mixture until just combined. Do not overmix. Fold in the morsels and the nuts and turn the batter into the prepared pan, smoothing thetop with a rubber spatula.

4. Bake until the top is shiny and cracked and feels firm to the touch., 22 to 25 minutes. Place the pan on a rack and cool completely. Cut into bars.

Blondies

3 Responses to “Chocolate Chip Blondies”

  1. Madeline Says:

    I made blondies tonight for the Blakester who’s got finals tomorrow and 4 girls over with Kendall. They also browned very fast. The recipe said to keep them out for 10 mins. b/f cutting and hopefully that was the trick, b/c I did take them out 5 minutes early. The did cut, and although a bit gooey (enjoyed by all) they went over well. I am so into the baking thing right now, but am frustrated by lack of time. Can’t wait til summer!!! And I told your mom, I basically failed my cake decorating class. You either have it or you don’t. You have it!!!!

    xo

  2. Joelen Says:

    They look fabulous – even with the cute dog nose in the background!🙂 I had the same thing happened too, in that they looked done, but I let it sit on my cooling rack for about 10-15 minutes within the pieces of foil before cutting. It was hard to resist cutting into them but it definitely was worth the wait!

  3. Chocolate Chip Blondies « Graced by Food Says:

    […] Chocolate Chip Blondies […]

Leave a Reply

