Wilton Course 1, Class 2

I recently decided to sign up for a Wilton Cake Decorating class as a way to meet people in our new town and as a way to improve my decorating skills obviously! I really am not much of a cake-maker. I rarely make them and I would almost never choose a cake as a dessert over pie, cookies, bars, cobblers, etc. Thus, I figured this would be a great way to get me out of my comfort zone!

The second class is the first one where you are required to bring a baked, iced cake to class. I wanted something fool-proof for the first class since I was kind of unsure of my homemade cake baking skills so I went with a boxed white cake mix and filled it with strawberry jam. My new friend and fellow Army wife, Angie, came over to my house and we made our cakes together. Unfortunately, I think our icing was still a little too “stiff” because when we went to ice the cake it just kept falling away from the cake and globbing up. It was not easy, but using a metal spatula dipped frequently in water to smooth the surface we FINALLY got our cakes iced.

After the simple icing process giving us so much trouble, I was obviously more than a little anxious about how I would do on the actual cake decorating part. In the class we practiced with our star tip, practiced making the rose “base”, and our writing with icing. Then, we started on decorating our cakes. Unfortunately, we did not have much time to decorate the cake before class ended so most of my cake was finished at home. The design we were encouraged to make was a rainbow using the star tip but we could really be creative and do whatever else we wanted to do. I wasn’t sure how I was going to incorporate a rainbow into a cake but I ended up going with a “Spring Cake”.

Rainbow Cake

When I finished the rainbow, I thought the bottom part of the cake was too empty so I decided to add some “grass” and flowers. The orange-ish color in the picture is actually hot pink but it didn’t photograph well.

Rainbow Cake

It was a slow, messy, and somewhat tedious process but the feeling when I finished the cake was so great. I can’t wait to learn more techniques and get creative!

Rainbow Cake

8 Responses to “Wilton Course 1, Class 2”

  1. katie102006 Says:

    I love this!! You are REALLY creative! I can’t WAIT to see what you come up with next!

  2. Melissa Says:

    SO cute! What a great first cake!

  3. Angie Says:

    Well done! It is so professional!

  4. MrsMike0527 Says:

    It’s awesome – nice work!!

  5. Nikki Says:

    The cake looks great! I just finished course one a few weeks ago and had so much fun!

  6. Jaime Says:

    lovely cake!

  7. Jenn Says:

    Your cake kicks butt! Love it! I’m taking the first course and it starts Tuesday-I’m excited! Great cake!

  8. Rainbow cake « Lines and Curves Says:

    […] really got her excited.  So we looked at more cakes and she decided she wanted hers to look like this one over at the Spicy Skillet.  Looked do-able!  And the little flowers would serve as a reasonable […]

Leave a Reply

