Barefoot Bloggers: Herbed Baked Eggs

Barefoot Blogger Icon

The Barefoot Bloggers are a new group of cooks and bakers dedicated to making recipes by the Barefoot Contessa herself, Ina Garten. Tara over at Smells Like Home recently started this group up and I thought it sounded so fun so I joined.

The first recipe chosen was Herbed-Baked Eggs which I was very excited about. Alex and I love eggs and I have a mini-herb garden I’m growing that I used for the fresh herbs in the dish! We love breakfast for dinner so I incorporated the eggs into a more “complete” meal for dinner one night. I served them with venison breakfast sausage patties, a piece of baguette, and fresh fruit. It was delicious! Alex said it’s not something he would request for dinner again but that he would definitely eat it again as a breakfast or brunch dish. The herbs just add so much flavor to the dish! I’m so glad I had my herb garden or else I probably would have used all dried herbs which may not have given it the same flavor.

Herbed Baked Eggs

The only problem I had, which it looks like a lot of the Barefoot Bloggers had, was that Ina’s time of 5-6 minutes to cook the eggs under the broiler was NOT sufficient! They looked cooked after that time so I took them out but then I realized they were still completely raw in the center of the dish so I nuked them in the microwave for a few seconds. Unfortunately, nuking them cooked the yellow part of the eggs but still left the center pretty runny. Next time I would just let it broil for another few minutes. All in all though, I was very pleased with the dish! I can’t wait to make more of Ina’s recipes!

Herbed Eggs

Herbed-Baked Eggs

Source: www.foodnetwork.com

1/4 teaspoon minced fresh garlic
1/4 teaspoon minced fresh thyme leaves
1/4 teaspoon minced fresh rosemary leaves
1 tablespoon minced fresh parsley
1 tablespoon freshly grated Parmesan
6 extra-large eggs
2 tablespoons heavy cream
1 tablespoon unsalted butter
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
Toasted French bread or brioche, for serving

Preheat the broiler for 5 minutes and place the oven rack 6 inches below the heat.

Combine the garlic, thyme, rosemary, parsley, and Parmesan and set aside. Carefully crack 3 eggs into each of 2 small bowls or teacups (you won’t be baking them in these) without breaking the yolks. (It’s very important to have all the eggs ready to go before you start cooking.)

Place 2 individual gratin dishes on a baking sheet. Place 1 tablespoon of cream and 1/2 tablespoon of butter in each dish and place under the broiler for about 3 minutes, until hot and bubbly. Quickly, but carefully, pour 3 eggs into each gratin dish and sprinkle evenly with the herb mixture, then sprinkle liberally with salt and pepper. Place back under the broiler for 5 to 6 minutes, until the whites of the eggs are almost cooked. (Rotate the baking sheet once if they aren’t cooking evenly.) The eggs will continue to cook after you take them out of the oven. Allow to set for 60 seconds and serve hot with toasted bread.

5 Responses to “Barefoot Bloggers: Herbed Baked Eggs”

  1. Joelen Says:

    Looks great and like a perfect breakfast!

  2. Melissa Says:

    I’m jealous of your herb garden!

  3. Amy Says:

    You’ve been tagged!!! Check out my blog for details! (Love your eggs, by the way!!)

  4. Rebecca Says:

    Delicious! Can’t wait to try out this one for dinner, too.

  5. Liz Says:

    I absolutely love Ina Garten!!! My mother-in-law got me hooked on her recipes and her cookbooks are now my favorite to cook out of! This is such a great idea — I must join in a couple of weeks when things are fully running again in my kitchen!

Leave a Reply

