Chocolate Chip Pancakes

I have a love for all things breakfast, but Chocolate Chip Pancakes hold a special place in my heart. It’s the first thing I look for on the menu at any place that claims to serve a good breakfast. They should be fluffy, golden brown, and gooey with plenty of chocolate inside of them. One of my favorite things to do on a lazy Saturday or Sunday is make a big, indulgent breakfast. My hubby, the one who never particularly cared for breakfast foods other than eggs, has even come to expect and request these big weekend breakfasts. This morning I woke up a little later than usual and wasn’t planning on making anything until my husband asked, “So what are you making for breakfast?” Whaaa?!? Normally I have to say “I’m making pancakes/waffles/etc. and I don’t care if you’re not hungry you have to eat some.” Because everyone knows a girl can’t eat big fluffy breakfast food all by herself…how embarrassing! If someone else helps you eat it, it significantly reduces the embarrassment.

So in to the kitchen I went, armed with a recipe from one of my favorite blogs, The Homesick Texan. I knew they would be delicious because they were her beloved Grandpa’s “special pancakes”. I love nothing more than a good ‘ole secret family recipe (especially when they are TEXAN family recipes). I only made a few small changes in the recipe as noted below but they were SO GOOD. Fluffy, golden brown, gooey just like they should be!

Yes that’s a mimosa in the picture.🙂

Grandpa’s special pancakes

Source: The Homesick Texan

Ingredients:
1 egg
About 1 1/2 cups of milk
2 cups of flour
1 tablespoon of whole-wheat flour (I just used 1 Tbsp all-purpose b/c I didn’t have whole-wheat)
1 heaping tablespoon of fresh baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
2 tablespoons of sugar
4 tablespoons of vegetable oil (I only used 3 Tbsp and they turned out perfect)
1/2 cup of shelled pecans (I omitted)

Method:
1. Beat together the egg and milk.
2. Add the rest of the ingredients. Mix (can add more milk if needed).
3. Pour 1/4 cup onto skillet heated at medium.
4. Cook for a couple of minutes on one side (until edges are brown and bubbles form in batter).
5. Flip and cook on other side a couple more minutes.
6. Serve immediately.
7. Don’t forget: Mighty good on Saturday morning!
Notes: When Jacob made these, he used buttermilk, which made them extra fluffy. He also used less than four tablespoons of oil. And my uncle Austin recalls that Grandpa insisted his secret to great pancakes was in using a fresh and hearty tablespoon of baking powder.

6 Responses to “Chocolate Chip Pancakes”

  1. bakingblonde Says:

    Those look so light and flulffy! YUM! That is one BIG chunk of butter on top of the stack!!

  2. karen Says:

    WOW those look good and that hunk of butter on top…PERFECT FOR ME!

  3. Angie Fair Says:

    I love chocolate chip pancakes! My dad used to always make them for me…and I’ll be honest, I won’t even consider eating pancakes unless they have chocolate chips in them. But, I may add that your pancakes do look rather fluffy….I am impressed!

    P.S. Is that a mimosa I see?

  4. Amber Says:

    Awesome looking pancakes, they are so big and fluffy!

  5. Leslie Says:

    whoa! that is the biggest chunk o’ butter i have ever seen!

    I love it though!

  6. Kate Says:

    I love how high and fluffy the cakes look, but I laughed at loud at that chunk o’ butter. Girl after my heart!

Leave a Reply

