Philly Cheesesteaks

Cheesesteaks

YUM! These will be a dinner staple in our house from now on. I don’t know why I didn’t think of making Cheesesteaks at home in the first place?!? I can thank my friend (in real life – not just a blog friend) Liz for putting the idea of cheesesteaks in my head. You see, Liz and I went to college together and were sorority sisters. She is a little bit older than me though so we didn’t get to know each other too well during college. Recently we discovered, via our friend Facebook, that we both married military men and that we both have a passion for cooking. We started talking and I told her about my food blog. She loved the idea and decided to make one herself!

She has been doing a fantastic job with her blog despite the fact that she was oh about 8 1/2 months pregnant when she decided to start it! I’m so happy to announce that Liz had her baby and she’s a beautiful little girl named Emily Grace! So this one’s for you Emily Grace! I have no doubt that you are going to grow up blessed with some wonderful food made by your Momma. You lucky girl you! Congratulations Liz and Daniel! Best wishes and THANKS for a great dinner idea!

One note: I wasn’t sure how to get “thinly sliced steak” so I asked the butcher at the grocery store. She directed me to the sirloin cut “Milanese Style” (aka very thin). Then, when it came time to cook I just sliced the thin-cut steak into strips. I think it turned out very well!

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwiches

Source: Closet Cooking

1 teaspoon olive oil

2 onions, sliced

1 green pepper, sliced

1 pound thinly sliced steak

salt and pepper to taste

provolone cheese

2 hoagie rolls

Heat oil in a pan. Add the onions and green peppers and saute until tender, about 6-10 minutes. Set the onions and peppers aside. Add the steak to the pan and cook until no longer pink, about 3-4 minutes. Mix the vegetables into the steak. Place the steak, vegetables, and cheese on the hoagie roll. Place the open sandwich, with the cheese on top, under the broiler to melt the cheese.

Makes 2 servings

4 Responses to “Philly Cheesesteaks”

  1. Renea Says:

    Mmm these look fantastic! I think I will have to try this recipe.

  2. HoneyB Says:

    Kevin has some awesome recipes out there! Your cheesesteak looks delicious!

  3. Liz Says:

    Thank you so much for your sweet message!!! We had a little case of jaundice that sent us back to the hospital for a day, but we are finally home adjusting to life as a family. I have been out of the kitchen for about a week now, and I’m dying to get back in there, so I can post some more!

  4. AshleyIsAPhony Says:

    I tried this recipe. It was awful!! I hate you and everything you stand for. Just kidding. This is your brother. Mom cooked this and it was pretty good.

Leave a Reply

