Wilton Course 1, Class 4

Ok so I skipped Class 3. What are ya gonna do? Tell the blogging police?? I just wasn’t a big fan of the figure piping techniques we learned in Class 3 so I didn’t get very far in decorating my cupcakes. I might go back to it someday but for now I’m just skipping it.πŸ™‚

In Class 4, the final class of Course 1, we learned how to complete the Wilton Rose and how to make Sweet Peas, leaves, and bows. I enjoyed this class a lot! We actually had plenty of time to finish our cake in class which is much preferred to having to finish at home. The rose was a little (ok a lot) tricky for me to pick up on but eventually I got the hang of it. My biggest problem was the icing being too stiff which was causing my petals to have “prickly” edges rather than smooth edges. Once I thinned the icing a bit it got MUCH easier. In the following photo you can see my “best” rose which is front and center versus some of the ones behind and to the side of it which are “prickly”….

On the final cake I decided to go with a cluster or roses, a bow, a couple of Sweet Peas, and a shell border (which we learned in Class 3). I was very happy with how it turned out. Here is a close-up of the bow and the Sweet Peas….

And one final pic to get a better look at the Shell Border….

I’m already signed up for Course 2 which starts next week. I can’t wait to learn more!

5 Responses to “Wilton Course 1, Class 4”

  1. Nikki Says:

    Your roses look great! What kind of cake is it? Anything special? I just used boxed cake mixes for mine. πŸ™‚

    I know what you mean about getting the right consistency for the roses. Mine was a little thick when we learned the roses, so my hand kept shaking as I was trying to pipe out the frosting! I felt like a weakling! lol

  2. Katie Says:

    Wow, that looks so great! What a great color you got and the deisgn is so nice!πŸ™‚

  3. Renea(MrsSchoon) Says:

    Good job!

  4. Melissa Says:

    Looks great! Roses are tough! Mine had the “prickly” look as well.

  5. Cherie Says:

    Your roses look great! My frosting was also too thick for my roses – I had jagged edges too!… it’s amazing what a difference the consistency can make! Here’s some pics of mine if you’re interested….

    http://cherie-cakecakeandmorecake.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

