Lemon-Basil Risotto with Tomato Topping

I’ve been on a bit of a Cooking Light kick lately. I don’t have a subscription (but I want one…*cough*mom*cough*) but for a couple years in college I would buy the latest issue on newsstands every now and then. That is, until I realized how darn expensive that got! So lately I’ve been squelching my Cooking Light cravings by revisiting old issues that I held on to. You’ll see a couple recipes coming up in the next few days that are all from Cooking Light. I love the fact that the magazine instructs you on how to make lighter dishes but you totally don’t feel like you’re reading and/or eating a light recipe!

Like Lemon-Basil Risotto with Tomato Topping…..yum! While eating it I felt a moment of total guilt for eating something so INDULGENT until I remembered it was from Cooking Light. Guilt be gone! Plus it has tomatoes on top which are providing you with much needed Lycopenes (or something like that?).

This was the perfect pairing to go with our Parmesan Chicken. It felt like such a fancy meal! In Alex’s words, “This meal is fricken’ awesome!” The only thing I changed was I cooked the risotto the “old-fashioned” way on the stove rather than in a pressure cooker like the recipe suggested. I did have to use about 1 cup more stock than was called for in the original recipe. And now I’m mad at this recipe because it has planted the seed in my brain of how much I “need” to buy a pressure cooker now. Darn you Lemon-Basil Risotto!!

Lemon-Basil Risotto with Tomato Topping

Source: Cooking Light

Topping:
1 1/2 cups chopped seeded tomato
2 tablespoons chopped green onions
1 1/2 teaspoons extravirgin olive oil
1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper
Dash of sugar
Dash of salt
Dash of freshly ground black pepper

Risotto:
2 tablespoons butter
1 cup chopped onion
1 1/2 cups Arborio rice
2 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 cup dry white wine
4 cups fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 cup (4 ounces) grated fresh Parmesan cheese
1 teaspoon grated lemon rind
3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
1/3 cup finely chopped fresh basil

To prepare topping, combine first 8 ingredients. Cover and let stand at room temperature.To prepare risotto, melt butter in a 6-quart pressure cooker over medium heat. Add onion; cook 2 minutes, stirring frequently. Add rice and garlic; cook 2 minutes, stirring constantly. Add wine; cook 1 minute or until liquid is absorbed, stirring frequently. Stir in broth, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1/4 teaspoon black pepper, and nutmeg. Close lid securely, and bring to high pressure over high heat. Adjust heat to medium or level needed to maintain high pressure; cook 6 minutes. Remove from heat; place cooker under cold running water. Remove lid. Stir in cheese, rind, juice, and basil. Top with tomato topping.

Yields 6 servings (serving size: 1 cup risotto and 1/4 cup topping)

writeNutrient();CALORIES 368(24% from fat); FAT 10g (sat 5.7g,mono 3.4g,poly 0.4g); IRON 1mg; CHOLESTEROL 23mg; CALCIUM 262mg; CARBOHYDRATE 52.6g; SODIUM 869mg; PROTEIN 13.7g; FIBER 2.3g

Robin Kline , writePublicationAppearance();Cooking Light, MAY 2004

2 Responses to “Lemon-Basil Risotto with Tomato Topping”

  1. Lindsey Says:

    Yum! I *love* lemon risotto. I bet the addition of the tomato topping in this recipe is delicious. Can’t wait to try it out!

  2. Erin Says:

    Beautiful risotto and chicken. I love my CL subscription. I can’t do without it.

Leave a Reply

