Pesto Palmiers

These little gems are my new favorite entertaining finger food! They’re super easy, have very few ingredients, and are perfect for entertaining since they don’t have to be served warm. My guests weren’t quite sure what they were just by looking at them but once they tasted them they had great things to say about them. I have a couple left over and I can’t stop eating them! They are really addicting! I can’t wait to make these again and maybe even experiment with some different filling ideas.

I just realized that I totally forgot the egg-brushing step! Woops! I don’t think it made that much of a difference though.

Pesto Palmiers

Source: As seen on Annie’s Eats, originally from Confections of a Foodie Bride

Ingredients:

1 sheet puff pastry, thawed

¼ cup grated Parmesan cheese, optional

½-3/4 cup pesto

1 egg

1 tbsp. water

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375°.

Lay puff pastry out onto parchment paper. Roll out into a 12×12” square. Lift up one side of the puff pastry, sprinkle grated Parmesan onto the parchment paper, and replace the puff pastry; repeat with the other side. Using a spatula, spread the pesto within ½ – inch of each side of the pastry. Using your spatula, make three indentations on the top edge of the dough at 3 inches, 6 inches and 9 inches to divide the sheet into quarters.

Fold the left and right edges of the puff pastry halfway to the center of the dough (to the closest quarter-mark indentation). Fold the sides to the middle again until they are almost touching. Fold the two halves together like a book.

Cut into half-inch slices and place onto parchment-lined baking sheet. Whisk the egg and water together and brush over the palmiers. Bake for 8 minutes, flip and bake for 6-8 more minutes. Palmiers are best the day of baking.

5 Responses to “Pesto Palmiers”

  1. Brooke Says:

    This looks delish. I am going to have to try the next time I have people over.

  2. Joelen Says:

    Mmm – you could roll just about anything up in puff pastry and I’d eat it! 🙂

  3. TV Night Menu « The Spicy Skillet Says:

    […] Pesto Palmiers, Hot Artichoke Dip w/ crackers, and M&M and Nut MIx (peanuts, cashews, and […]

  4. Annie Says:

    Yours look so nice and pretty! I’m going to have to try them again without freezing and see if they turn out better.

  5. Brenda Says:

    From the momen I saw these on your blog, I’ve been obsessing over them. I finally made them to serve at my book group last evening and they were a huge hit. Especially with me! OMG these are good. Thanks for posting the recipe (and the all too tempting photo).

Leave a Reply

