Well, hello there!!!

So it’s been a REALLY long time since I’ve posted a blog update. A really really long time. The blog got put on the back burner because I started a new full-time Marketing and Advertising job that keeps me very busy. But I’m back! And I plan on trying to update on a more regular basis again. I missed food blogging!

When I was walking through the grocery store this week I saw the fresh cranberries had been put out. Yay!! I LOVE fresh cranberries! They are so tart and also have a lot of health benefits. They’re packed full of antioxidants. I had planned to bake White Chocolate Cranberry Scones with them but then I decided to find a recipe that was more of a dessert than a breakfast. I ended up coming across a recipe for White Chocolate Cranberry Bars on Katie’s blog, Good Things Catered. Thanks, Katie, for another great recipe!

The pictures I took aren’t great (I’ve got to get back in the food photography swing of things) but OH BOY are they good! The tart cranberries pair so well with the white chocolate. I even decided to drizzle melted white chocolate on top but this was really not a necessary step. They were just perfect without the extra chocolate/calories.

Cranberry White Chocolate Bars
Source: Good Things Catered

Ingredients
1/2 c. butter, softened
1/2 c. granulated sugar
1/2 c. packed brown sugar
1 1/2 c. flour
3/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
zest of 1/2 orange (I omitted)
1/8 tsp freshly grated nutmeg (I omitted)
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1 c. dried or fresh cranberries
1/2 c. white chocolate chips

Directions:
-Preheat to 350 degrees and line an 11 x 7 pan with foil, coating with cooking spray.
-In medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, zest, nutmeg and set aside.
-In bowl of stand mixer, beat butter and sugar on high until soft and light in color, about 3 minutes.
-Turn mixer to low and beat in eggs, one at a time, and then vanilla until thoroughly combined.
-Slowly incorporate flour mixture.
-Remove from stand mixer and stir in cranberries and white chocolate.
-Spread batter in pan (it’s thick so use a spatula and be sure to remove all air bubbles).
-Bake 25 – 30 minutes or until toothpick inserted into center comes out clean.
-Cool on rack for 1 hours.
-Remove from pan and cut into bars.

3 Responses to “Well, hello there!!!”

  1. Erin Says:

    These look delicious! What a great combination 🙂

  2. Katie Says:

    YUmmmmmmy!! So funny too b/c I scrolled down and was like “WOW! Whatever that is, they look delicious!” and then I saw they were the cranberry bars. hahaha. I LOVE fresh cranberry too! And I am so loving the white chocolate drizzle. Doing that next time I make them! Thanks!

  3. Martha Says:

    These look yummy, especially for a cranberry lover like me. Will put these on my list of recipes to try this Fall when cranberry season arrives.

Leave a comment